Skip to main content

Horizon Transplant Programs

Organ and tissue donation offers transplant patients the possibility of having a normal, healthy life. To support donors, recipients and their families, we’ve developed the Horizon Transplant Programs. Our goal is to help you find quality specialty care while enabling health professionals to improve the overall quality and delivery of health care nationwide.

Blue Distinction Centers for Transplants® are designated by the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association to medical facilities that have demonstrated expertise in delivering quality health care under objective selection criteria. The distinct designation is based on rigorous, evidence-based selection criteria established by leading medical specialists and societies. Choosing one of our Centers of Excellence will provide you and your family the best in specialty care. To date, more than 70 Blue Distinction Centers for Transplants have been designated, representing more than 250 specific transplant programs across the country.

Please note: The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) requires that Medicare and Medicare Advantage members must receive all transplant-related services only at Medicare-approved transplant facilities.

Blue Distinction Centers for Transplants provide a range of services for nine transplant types:

  • Heart
  • Lung (deceased and living donor)
  • Combination heart bilateral lung
  • Liver (deceased and living donor)
  • Simultaneous pancreas kidney (SPK)
  • Pancreas (PAK/PTA)
  • Combination liver kidney
  • Kidney-only in conjunction with SPK/PAK
  • Bone marrow/stem cell (autologous and allogeneic)