Skip to main content

NJ Individual Mandate

Under a new state law, residents of New Jersey must have health insurance beginning January 1, 2019, or pay a penalty. Horizon BCBSNJ offers different plans so that you can get the coverage you need and avoid paying a penalty.

New Jersey created this mandate because Congress repealed the penalties of the individual mandate of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), effective December 31, 2018, effectively ending the federal requirement that all individuals have health insurance.

New Jersey’s mandate, which mirrors the federal requirement, includes an annual penalty of 2.5 percent of a household’s income or a per-person charge — whichever is higher. The maximum penalty based on a per-person charge will be $2,085.

Individuals who purchase coverage directly from an insurance company or are covered under a group health plan comply with this mandate.

A hardship exception for individuals who cannot afford coverage will be determined by the state treasurer.

Do you want to buy health insurance?

Individuals can buy health insurance between November 1, 2020 and January 31, 2021, during the Open Enrollment Period. Certain life events, such as the loss of a job or a move to another state, may make you eligible to buy insurance under a Special Enrollment Period, which is a 60-day window around the life event.

Shop Horizon BCBSNJ medical plans.